• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

wood needed

If you read any of my other fourms you know that I am new to this. I need some nice wood blanks that would be good for beginers. Where can I get them?

where to find wood blanks

If new to turning and probably cutting blanks yourself, you can always buy them. But, they are expensive at places like Woodcraft etc. You can check your local AAW chapter, some of your friends there may have some to sell or direction on how and where to buy. I have had good success with purchases from ebay for good prices. If interested, I have a guy I particularly like who has a continuous supply of bowl blanks and who deals on ebay but will also sell out right to you. Many of his blanks are already dry or nearly dry. I am currently going through all this myself since I just started turning in Jan! But loving it so far. Email me direct if you want some of the sources I have used for bowl blanks. But there are most likely an infinite number of places you can get them. Gary

Local Hardwood Suppliers

Fly