• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

So many questions on turning a bowl...

Hi, I'm new to turning and want to focus on bowls (for now). I live in rural Ohio, over an hour away from the nearest AAW club and given COVID times I doubt there's much in-person mentoring going on anyway. So I'm stuck learning this on my own and it's a bit daunting. My main question is a recommendation for videos (online or for purchase) to help me learn this skill. I'm overwhelmed by the variety and quantity and wasn't sure who to trust. Secondly, I live on 7 acres of wooded property and I border an even larger wooded area, so I want to learn more about finding my own wood for blanks but I have no eye for it. Are some wood species more amenable to turning bowls that I should be looking for? How freshly fallen does the tree need to be? (is just no obvious sign of rot enough?). I'm ignorant about whether I should be turning green wood or letting it dry first and the pros and cons of each. I'm all set up and ready to go and have done a couple practice bowls with blanks but I want to take this hobby to the next level. Thanks!

Roger Wiegand

Beta Tester
Website
www.carouselorgan.com
Welcome down the rabbit hole!

A great place to find video content is on the AAW site: https://www.woodturner.org/Woodturner/Gregory/WoodFunLandingPage.aspx These videos have been curated so that you can avoid the worst of youtube.