• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

1/2 spindle detail gouge

I bought a 1/2 detail spindle gouge from turners edge. being a beginner I thought I was doing something wrong I can’t get it to cut I have to force it to make a dovetail I was at my turning group today and ask about it and 2 other people said they have set them aside and don’t use them for the same reason has anyone ran into this and found a reason or cure for this problem I have run into
And I am in no way putting down this tool or brand just looking for help to make it work as it was over $100

Website
www.reallyruralwoodworks.com