• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

A bandsaw blade question

I have been turning now for about 8 months, and have been loving it. I am learning more about every weekend. My question stems from a little frustration in preparing blanks for bowls. I have a 14" bandsaw, the Grizzly GO55 with the 6 inch risor block, giving me clearance of 12 inches. I have been trying to cut some walnut about 5-8 inches thick to make some bowls and vases, but the saw has trouble cutting it. I have a 3/4" inch blade which tends to bind up as well. I thought about trying a thinner blade, but felt it would not go through the thick walnut. I think the current blade has 3-4 teeth per inch. I may need a new blade, but I have always struggled with this, so I don't know if it is the blade or something I am doing wrong. I do thing my current blade was made for resawing. What kind of blade should I be using? Is this a common problem? It seems that every video I watch, the guys are just buzzing right through their blanks making a nice circle. I have gotten to where I just try to cut the corners off with a chain saw, and do the rest on the lathe. Any help would be appreciated. By the way, I don't offer any advice yet, but I do want to thank everyone for all the help with my questions over the last several months. It is a great help.

Thanks,

Jeff