• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Aaron Dodini

Hi all,
My name is Aaron. I'm very new to the turning world. I've thought about it for about the past 10 years and have just now been able to find the balance in life to begin doing something creative and centering. What better way to accomplish both than by turning! I've been borrowing a 50 yr old lathe from an even older friend of mine :) for the past month and just cobbled together some tools and found some great newly cut down maple and oak burls and wood. I'm excited to begin learning--watching many of your instagram and you tube channels. You are a collection of amazingly talented individuals. It's an honor to see your work and passion.
I'm going to be looking dilligently to buy my own lathe and tools and get my "shop" which is really just a 4' square nook in my garage, set up. Any thoughts on how to best find a good used lathe or buy a new lathe. I'm leaning toward the Laguna 12/15 or 15/24 because it seems they can be used to expand on the outboard to turn larger pieces as I get better skilled. My goal is to turn boals in the 12"-15" range comfortably. Any insights or advice on machines and tools is very welcome!
I live in Arlington, VA so anyone in the DC metro area, I'd love to connect!