• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Andy Elliot

Hello! I recently got a lathe from my uncle. I am a budding woodworker- usually I end up getting more frustrated than I would like but I have a feeling that turning will be more relaxing and fun than my other woodworking projects so far. I'm in my 30's and live in Dallas, Tx. I have never turned anything before. I am taking a bowl making class at Rockler in about a month. My only turning tools are a Record RMPL 300 C mini lathe and a 3/4" bowl gouge. I look forward to learning a lot and meeting a lot of great people.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Welcome, good instruction will give you a command of basic skills and techniques that will increase the enjoyment
you get from turning a great deal.

A freind of mine has little speel he uses to promote woodturning.
First thing he built from wood was a boat - took 10 years
Second thing he built was a dining room table - took 10 months
Then he discovered woodturning - could make a bowl in an hour.