• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Has anyone Tried This Tool???

B

Brian Myers

laymarcrafts said:
I have been using a similar set up for many years and have detailed the making and use of it on my Web Site:

www.laymar-crafts.co.uk/tip38.htm

It works well and I have three versions that covers my needs all for a few Pence [Cents].

Richard

Richard,
You get my vote for best turning website and most ambitious. :cool2: Thanks for all your hard work that you are willing to share.
Brian

Thanks for the replies Richard and Brian. Between the three sources I should be able to make one of these mandrels fairly easy.

GA Darling

Website
www.harderwoods.com
A few years back I was doing one of my favorite activities: wandering through a hardware store looking for gadgets that could be used for woodturning, even if that's not what they were designed for. I ran across one of these:

http://www.doityourself.com/invt/0274613