• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Jenny Trice

I have been turning for more than 10 years. I have done quite a bit of other woodworking and while making toys, I discovered the need for round things (wheels, airplane engines, etc.). I had a friend with a lathe and he helped make some wheels but I caught the bug and bought my first lathe shortly after that. It was a Jet 12-21. After a couple of years, I decided I wanted something bigger and I upsized to the Jet 1642.

I have been an avid forum/message board follower and have also taken several classes through my local Minnesota Woodturners chapter. My interests are very broad and I have tried many different things (pens, tops, bowls, platters, hollow forms, beads of courage boxes, pyrography, just starting basket illusion . . .).

1215181618.jpg

Welcome aboard! Nice cabinet on the lathe. I've though about something like that, but I'd invariably leave a drawer open and fill it with chips.

I vacuum out those drawers every time I use the lathe but still like the ballast weight and the handiness of my tools.

Mark Hepburn

Artist & Chef
Welcome to the forum Jenny. I'm going to borrow your cabinet design for my Jet 1642 if you don't mind :)

Welcome to the forum Jenny. I'm going to borrow your cabinet design for my Jet 1642 if you don't mind :)