• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

John Hutchins

Hi everyone, recently joined the forum an I'm taking the advise to make a bit of an introduction. I started turning with the mid 1940's 9" Dunlap (Sear) lathe, in the photo below, that I took out of my dad's shop after he took it out of my grandfather's shop. I'm a retired accountant and have been a woodworker for many years, also a beekeeper and touring cyclist (bicycle, not motor). But turning is a new adventure

I've quickly caught the bug and realized I need to upgrade to technology from the current century so I have been pondering new lathes for quite a while now. I've read numerous threads here and on other forums, read blog posts, watched YouTube videos and have settled on "the lathe" several times (all different, obviously). I started looking at midi's till my wife said "I thought you'd get something bigger". Hard to pass up and opening like that, but I don't think she had any idea how the price can double, or triple from a nice midi to a 16" or 18" Jet or Laguna. To say nothing of Powermatics, Robusts etc.