• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Lathe recommendation to pass on to wannabe new turner...

Jon

Website
www.rogueturner.com
Ok, so I'm not a beginner, and I don't drool in the woodworking stores or even at the symposium tradeshow over new, small lathes. So it's been quite a while since I really paid attention to what's out there. But I just got asked about a beginner's lathe, and started to look around.

The woman who asked, sent me a link to the Excelsior Mini Lathe at Rockler, for $300. My gut reaction was no, and I started writing a few reasons why, to explain my position. But then I started looking around and realized it's been quite a while since I looked at what's out there, what they cost, and how they might compare quality-wise.

Ten years ago it was a no-brainer and I'd say, "Go buy a Jet Mini 1014VS, the variable speed model, it's pretty much the industry standard," now known the Jet 1015VS. But at almost twice the price of the one in her link, hard to give that advice to someone just wanting to start, and kicking the tires.