• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Lathe Wobble at 750 RPM

Hello all,

I've been turning for about two years now and love it. I upgraded about a year ago to a Powermatic 3520B, and love that as well. I've had a persistent problem that I'm looking to troubleshoot with some more 'seasoned' turners ;) I've noticed that my lathe develops a wobble at around 700-750 RPM. If I have a slightly off-balance piece, it will do fine up to that range, I'll get a noticeable wobble at that speed, but it will go away if I go past it. You can barely notice the wobble without anything mounted, but it is much more pronounced with something mounted. I've replaced the spindle and bearings, gotten a new chuck, and spent about 4 hours trying to balance the feet (I'm on a concrete pad that is slightly angled). Is there anything I am overlooking, or do you have ideas on what I can do to diagnose? The belts seem fine, almost zero noise no matter the speed, and reverse works fine as well.

Thanks for your assistance,

McKay

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com