• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Mike Charon

Hi, I am Mike. Just found and joined AAW.
I am a career woodworker. Been making cabinets since 1979.
I am about to stop doing that, (dare I say, retire??)
In the home that we just bought, I have a small (~600 SF) shop. One of the first machines on my list is a lathe.
I used to love turning in school, but have never owned a lathe of my own.

In order to be able to outfit the rest of the shop, I have set my lathe budget at ~$1200.
I have always wanted an old PM 90, for it's weight and ruggedness, but I know that the controls must be better on a modern machine.
Ideally, I want something heavy enough that I can turn some medium sized live edge stuff, as well as all the typical bowls, spindles, etc..

I'd love to hear your input.

Thanks for the great forum
Mike

Bill Boehme

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
pbase.com
Welcome to the forum, Mike. For a home shop, 600 square feet is quite nice (mine is about 270 square feet). I haven't been following lathe prices, but like all the other stationary woodworking machines, the prices seem to be higher every time that I look.

Mike,

If you find some old iron you can always add a VFD to control the 3-phase motor if it comes with one. Many of the older lathes used a reeves style pulley drive speed control.