• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

My journey to CBN wheels

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
I have been using CBN wheels for about 5 years.
I remember chatting with @Bill Boehme at swat while he was in line to chat with Ken Rizzo about a CBN wheel he wanted to buy.
I was non CBN convert back then for a lot of reasons- my ceramic wheels did a great job, I was really good a dressing wheels, I only had 2 powdered metal tools, I was long past the high volume turning where I was replacing wheels every 18 months. Really did not have any reason to go CBN.

About a year later 4 things came together. My demo room at the Florida Symposium had a grinder with CBN wheels (wow this thing is smooth), I had acquired a few more powdered metal tools, right after the symposium our club got a bulk order invitation from Ken Rizzo, and the radius edge available was perfect for sharpening my hollowing tools.

The main thing for me was how smooth and quiet sharpening on a CBN was compared to a matrix wheel. Sort of like driving on a newly paved road compared to its pot hole infested predecessor.
A small thing but the smoothness sold me.

I use a 80 grit on my bowl gouges and 180 on everything else

Do I need CBN? Probably not. They do sharpen the particle metal tool a bit better. The CBN never needs to be dressed before I can use it.