• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Nick Jonkman

Hi folks. I am about to turn 82 in May. I was an auto mechanic for a good portion of my life, been a body man, a machinist, woodworker, and dabbled pretty well in every trade. Back in the 60s I built my first machine, a wood lathe. I didn't do much with it at first as I was busy establishing my garage. around 1980 we got shut down by sewer construction for a whole year which just about done us in. I started peddling tools which turned out pretty good and ended up closing the shop turning it into a store for mainly woodworking supplies and some metalworking. Then some customers started talking about wanting to learn woodturning which would encourage them to buy the equipment to do so. So the old machine I built got put into service and I gave lessons two nights a week to about 4 people at a time. I sold the place around 2010 and built a new 40 x 48 ft. shop with a hoist, machine shop, and spray booth beside the house. My wood shop is in the basement. Many years ago, I bought an old Delta lathe from the school board that had been robbed of parts. So as I retired when I sold the store I started making th