• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Proper Fitting Lids - Too Loose, Too Tight or Just Right is the Question?

I’ve been a part time woodworker for 30+ yrs (hobby mostly) and only started wood turning in July 2011, so a newbie I am.

My question relates to what is considered a proper fitting lid on a turned box?

As I started turning some simple boxes my lids were slightly tight or snug which some have referred to as a vacuum fit. Slight pressure and the lid seats in place and remains on even if turned upside down. To remove, simply place one hand on the box and the second removes the lid with only slight upward pressure.

I think we all can relate to the joy of finishing your first few successful turnings and running off to show friends and family what you’ve created.