• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Reshaping a skew

I am new to woodturning and bought the Benjamin’s best turning set. It has a 1 inch skew that is straight across. As I watch woodturning YouTube videos, I see a lot of people with skews that are more curved at the end. To me, they look easier to use as they would have less tendency to catch. Does anyone have any videos or advice on how to reshape the skew I have?
Thanks
Todd

Check out www.turnawoodbowl.com. Kent Weakly has lots of stuff along this line. I highly recommend his tool sharpening course ($80 or so, I can't recall). He shows you how to create different bowl gouge profiles. He doesn't have a lot on skews, though, so if that's your primary interest, I wouldn't spend the money on the course.

Alan Lacer's website had it before but either there's a broken image link on the page or an issue on my side. I did find this site with some more exact measurements here. I converted one of my cheap harbor freight skews to this grind and I like it much better. It takes time, just make sure it isn't overheating.