• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Rockwell Pulley

I have Rockwell Lathe 46-111. I beleive it has cast zink pulleys. Am I limited to motor horsepower with these pulleys. The manual lists 1/3 and 1/2 HP motor options. Can I use 3/4 HP? It is a DC with Variable speed. Were can I find a rating for this type pulley?
Thanks, Woodbass

First, understand that I'm no mechanical engineer and am not qualified to speak to the issue of "limits" regarding any mechanical device. Nevertheless, it seems to me that the horse power of the motor, aside from having the capability of providing greater torque under load, shouldn't make that much difference. A 1750 RPM motor will run at 1750 RPM (that's usually a no load rating) whether it's a 1/3, 1/2, or 3/4 horse power device. The 1/3 HP will stall with less load than the bigger motor but I don't see what other difference there could be.