• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Rudy Speerschneider

I'm gonna cut right to the chase here, if that's ok...I'm looking for spheres! Or, more aptly, someone who loves to make spheres! I do personally love to make spheres, but I am a beginner and have a big project in mind and looking for help in amassing a supply. These spheres I seek need to be solid wood (made from local sustainably salvaged wood) and between 8"-16" in diameter.

A bit about myself: I am an artist / illustrator / painter by education and trade and recently discovered that my preferable "canvas" is a 3 dimensional, solid wood surface (with beautiful grains!). I just bought my own lathe (Jet 1221VS 12") and instantly fell in love with woodturning (might be in my genes, as my grandfather worked a lathe), but the thing is, is that it takes a long time to make as many as I'd like and thought I'd try to recruit some help...So, that's why I'm here, for the most part, to be honest. And of course, I'm also here to learn more about woodturning in general.

If this project at all interests you, send me a message and I can explain more...I look forward to getting to know you, the community, and the world of woodturning!

Thank you.
Rudy Speerschneider (no joke, my name has "sphere" in it!)

Rudy,