• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Scott Rousseau

Hello, y'all! My name is Scott Rousseau and I am new to woodturning, so I thought it would be a good idea to learn from some experienced turners. I am a mostly self-taught woodworker, having been buying old tools and learning how to use them for about 35 years, but I have never owned a lathe until a co-worker sold me one a couple months ago. It is a 1979 (I think) Craftsman 12" wood lathe that was owned by her father who passed away some months ago. It was rusted but mostly complete with a running motor, so I spent some time cleaning it up and putting it back together and now it is looking good. It came with a basic set of 8 chisels that were pretty dull, so I had to get a nice Hurricane wheel for my bench grinder to get a fresh edge on them and learn how to use them. My first project was to make some table legs for a section of a bowling alley that I wanted to use for a TV stand (see pics). After working through a learning curve I got 4 legs turned, painted them black, and installed them onto the maple bowling lane piece with some cherry aprons. It came out great!