• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Tormek Confusion

I'm a new turner and purchased a nice Tormek - 8 system. Since I have little experience with sharpening tools I allowed my research on water sharpening vs. traditional grinding to sway me. I admit that the propaganda that the Tormek people put out probably swayed me more than it should. Anyway I now have this Tormek-8 outfit with the woodturning jigs. I have been reading folks back and forth about different grinders and have managed to get baffled about the whole process.

Use Tormek for everything:
1 shaping tools (old ones that need refurbishing- I have a bunch)
2 sharpening newly purchased tools - Is this necessary?)
3 routine sharping and honing tools as needed.

Add a slow/fast/both speed grinder to the mix?

Sorry for the newbie questions. Sometimes there too much information on this stuff.