• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Trey Robinson

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to woodturning! I live in Starkville, MS. I am really interested in making turkey pot calls. I have always had an interest in woodwork and have finally decided to give it a try.

Currently I am in the market for a lathe and have been doing some research on different models.

I am trying to decide between these three:

1.) Rikon Midi Lathe- 70-220VSR
2.) NOVA COMET II MIDI LATHE
3.) Delta 21.5 in x 34.5 VS

If anyone has any recommendations I would appreciate it.

Also if anyone has anymore info on what types of chucks and gouges etc that I might need to get started, I’d greatly appreciate it too.

Trey,