• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Dan Goth

Hi guys.

I'm just getting into wood turning and stumbled onto this site. Part of me wishes I hadn't because after checking out the gallery I want to buy a new set up. You have some serious talent here for sure. I hope some of it can rub off on me.

I've been a woodworker for most of my life working in cabinet shops and now have my own shop doing custom stuff. I have a lathe and really enjoy using it to make the occasional chair spindle as I'm also doing furniture restoration, but also making pens and small boxes for fun.
My problem is my lathe, which I love even though it's a piece, has a jarno taper and I can't seem to find centers to fit it. I would love to get a new drive spur and a live center. Do you guys have any ideas, other than buy a new lathe, on how to proceed without breaking the bank? I've looked at the adapter sleeves but can't find one that will fit.

Any advise is very much appreciated.

Thanks, Dan

Dan,

Can you help us by providing us info about the lathe that you have? Make, Model, or at least a photo so we can help you identify the things your are seeking?

Hi Tom,