• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Pm sale!

Do I buy the PM 3520b at 15 percent off or do I need something with a 3HP?

I am a beginner.
I like to turn bowls 12 - 18 inch. I want to use a coring system. I have access to big wood and bigger wood fairly often.

Does the PM have enough power to use a coring system (easily)
Does the moving headstock lead to vibration?
Would you rather have a fixed headstock and have to lean over the bed or a sliding headstock and work off the end?

I don't want to say money is no issue, b/c it is always an issue. Having said that, I could go 10k for a Oneway or VB36- The question is should I. I only turn in the winter. I bass fish in the summer.
Will the 3520b be all I could ever need or should I go to something else. Should I get more experience before I step up to a top-line lathe?

Thanks for the input

Brian, as a PM 3520B owner I'm totally satisfied with my purchase.

I've turned up the to limit, but really, 20" is one very large bowl and few people want to give up that much kitchen/counter-space real estate. So, that large is a limited market.

can't help you with this one. Someone else will be along and point you in the right direction.

I don't think so. I tighten the headstock handle and all is smooth.

Would you rather have a fixed headstock and have to lean over the bed or a sliding headstock and work off the end?