• Welcome Ornamental Turning International members. CLICK HERE to go to the new OTI forum.

    To read the announcement, CLICK HERE.
  • Congratulations to Jean-Louis Meynier, winner of the August 2022 Turning Challenge (click here for details)
  • It's time to cast your vote in the September 2022 Turning Challenge. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Eli Polite for "3 Grams" being selected as Turning of the Week of September 26, 2022 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

August 2022 Challenge: Final Results

August 2022 Turning Challenge: Vote for your favorite turning

  • Bernie Hrytzak

    Votes: 6 13.3%
  • Jean-Louis Meynier

    Votes: 21 46.7%
  • Michael Anderson

    Votes: 18 40.0%

  • Total voters
    45
  • Poll closed .

Bill Boehme

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
12,385
Likes
4,309
Location
Dalworthington Gardens, TX
Website
pbase.com
The theme for the August 2022 Turning Challenge was to turn a ball in a ball. Al Hockenbery's demo handout was shown as an example, but you were encouraged to be creative and put your own spin on this challenge. The result was three very creative entries for this month’s challenge. The challenge is now closed and it is time for forum members to vote. You are allowed one vote and once you have voted you won't be able to go back and change your vote. After you have voted you will be able to track the vote totals. The voting is secret (just like a real election) so nobody other than you can see who you voted for (not even the moderators/administrators). The voting begins now and ends at midnight UTC (8 PM EDT, 7 PM CDT, 6 PM MDT, 5 PM PDT, AND 2 PM HST) on August 31. In case of a tie vote, the forum moderators will gather in a virtual smoke-filled room to sort out the winner.

You can click on any of the images below to see the original post with the full-size images


Bernie_Hrytzak.jpgWWWJean-Louis_Meynier.jpg


Michael_Anderson.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
69
Likes
403
Location
Lafayette, CA
Website
jlwoodshop.com
Thank you to everyone for watching this challenge and for voting for it.
The three very creative entries for this month’s challenge came with their own spin as Bill suggested. Bernie’s hollowed, multi-hoses ball is nicely done. Michael’s egg in a egg with the big egg beautifully centered is magnificent as the voted cycle has shown.
We should consider the three of us as winner in this challenge.
Thank you all and thank you Michael and Bernie to participate.
 
Top