• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Dave Henry

Hi,
I have joined AAW at the family level and wanted to say what an awesome site you have here. It's a veritable vast wealth of information. I am proud to be a part of it.

I have been working with wood for over 30 years now. I really like working with wood, but I LOVE turning!

For the past year and a half I have been turning on a 1973 Craftsman tube lathe....oh the joy! lol I made 6 bowls on it and somehow they came out okay. About 2 weeks ago I finally received my brand new Jet 1642-2 EVS lathe! You talk about heaven....I had no idea what real turning was. I know there are allot of better lathes out there but this to me is totally amazing. I couldn't be happier.

Anyway, just wanted to say hi to everyone and am looking forward to soaking up the vast amount of knowledge this site has to offer.

Take care,
Dave Henry
PS A pic of my new lathe and the bowls I turned on the old craftsman. ( Don't laugh, lol ) The purple heart is not finished yet and the cell phone is for size reference.

Me&MyNewLathe01.jpg

MyFirstBowls01.jpg

Welcome to the AAW Dave,

The Jet 1640 EVS is a good buy. Our sympathies and admiration go out to you for your efforts on the craftsman lathe. It looks like you have a good start, I don't see a bad piece in the bunch. Happy turning!

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Dave.......