• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Don C Davis

My name is Don Davis, I'm a former real estate developer from the northern burbs of Atlanta. About 6 years ago, the hospital tried to kill me, and they came close--so after 3 months in a Coma, I came to and had lost all nerve function in my feet an ankles--took me about 2 years to learn to walk again-with a cane-but over the last 4 years I've gotten to where I don't use the cane anymore and I have dove into the woodworking Rabbit-hole. My good friend got me into turning about 3 1/2 years ago, we started with Pens, and I have expanded to larger items-bowls, peppermills and vases etc. I'm at a stage where I am trying to figure out the 'get wood inexpensively' and laminating mu own blanks out of contrasting woods etc. I'm very open to learning new stuff, and like to learn the old tricks of the trade from those experienced turners out there.

I live in the northern burbs of Atlanta, in a community that I actually built--since my disability occurred, I can't work anymore, my stamina died along with the nerves in my feet and ankles :(
Look forward to the interaction here!

Bill Boehme

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
pbase.com