• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Hollowing with a Bowl Gouge

Website
www.simoli.net
OK, I'm a beginner that has made a few bowls. While looking through my Gene Raffin (SP?) book I noticed that when he hollows out his bowl blank he cuts with the tool hitting the 1:00 o'clock position. The few bowls I've made I have always run my tool from the 9:00 o'clock position toward the center. Before I go try this out on my lathe, I'm wondering if anyone else has tried this. Maybe I'm just not seeing the picture right. It just seems to me that if I get a catch the tool would be pushed into me. Any comments?

Website
www.seantroy.com
I would say before you do anything else and start devolping bad habits that will be hard to break, find another turner in your area to show you the right way. http://www.woodturner.org/community/chapters/ Check this link to find the nearest chapter and call the contact. I have seen so many turners try and do it themselves by asking a few questions on a forum and have lots of trouble. No need to be in such a rush. By the way, it's Richard Raffin and one oclock is about right for most. I promise you'll do fine and have more fun if you learn right the first time. Best of luck.