• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

John Lucas

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
I guess I should join in. I was born in Southern Indiana but we left when I was 2. Moved to Perry Park Kentucky and then Louisville, and then Nashville where I graduated in 1967. During my Tour in the Air Force my parents moved to Atlanta. Hey Al, my last tour of duty was at a small radar sqaudron on Ft. Meade. That's where I got into racing dirt bikes. Moved back to Tennessee where I 've been ever since. Graduated with a Degree in Physical Education but had minors in Industrial Arts and Mass Communications. When I graduated the only job I could find was selling Cameras. I had a bunch of odd electronic repair jobs after than but finally ended up back in the Photography end of things. That led to my job as a Photographer for Tennessee Tech University. That turned out to be a godsend as I'll explain when I talk about my turning.