• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Natural Edge Bowl (video)

Hello forum. New member here. My name is Daniel. What little I know about turning it was self taught. I have a little shed in my backyard with a cheap lathe but I must say woodturning is one of the most therapeutic and relaxing hobbies ever. Here is a youtube video of a natural edge bowl i made. Wood is black locust. I found this wood to be a little hard to turn ( or maybe it was my rusty skills lol)

Daniel Perrone

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqRu7AGmUJ0

Fun. You've got some courage, posting a video after the "apricot" thread. Or was commentary there why you showed the locust rather than the boxelder?

Hi Michael, to be honest I had not read the apricot thread. I have been very busy this summer , so many things keeping me away from my little shop. I was so excited to have turned something and having a video of it I just rush to the computer to post it. I started with the Boxelder but i kept making mistakes and the bowl kept getting smaller and smaller. The wood was also a little punky and the bark kept coming off.

But it was worth it to swicht to locust as I like the way the bowl "turned out".

BTW, I just read some of the posts on the apricot thread and I learned / was reminded about the importance of safety.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert