• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Opinions on Spiracraft? Also any one have experience with the Nova Nebula?

Apologies in advance if this is posted in the wrong spot. I'm new to the forum. I've been using a Nova 1624 (belt model, not DVR) for 15-20 years now, and have never had a problem with it. I am feeling about ready to upgrade to variable speed, a little more hp, and a heavier machine. So, I've been narrowing down options in the price range I'm willing to spend. I'm feeling like the new Nova Nebula has everything I want, including a sliding headstock and wired remote/controls. They're not available for preorder many places yet, but one I've found is Spiracraft. They seem to be pretty well established in the woodturning community, but I have never heard of them.

I would love any input from folks who have experience with either Spiracraft or the Nebula lathe. Just wanting extra opinions before spending a big chunk of change. Thanks in advance, and again just let me know if this should be posted elsewhere.

I'm not familiar with Spiracraft, but CPO, Acme and Tyler Tool all look to be able to put one in the cart. (i didn't try). I've bought from all three of those with no issues, but no large machines. Acme or Tyler estimated 5-6 week delivery, Rockler estimated late May (and adds deliver fee). Seems like the Nebula has been in the pipeline for a long time.