• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Randy Red Bemont

Hey All, I just joined and wanted to say hey. I'm a long time woodworker and never owned a lathe. But I am looking to change that! I'm here to learn the art (aka addiction) of turning wood. I live in the mountains of NC in a little town called Nebo. Looking to make a lathe purchase sometime in early spring or sooner so I'm doing my homework now so I get the right equipment. Thanks.

Red

If you really want to feed your addiction check out the Woodturning Symposium in January. Info is available at http://tnwoodturners.org/
Then click on Symposium on the left hand column. Especially check out the list of vendors you should be able to get some answers on lathes and other required tools.

Thank you all for the welcome. I will check out the Carolina Mountain Woodturners. There only about a 50 mile drive. Not bad.

Red

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Red.......

Remember that there are the accepted and approved ways of doing things......and, then there are alternative ways! The only thing that's useful for contemplation of the two.....is results!

I'm one of those who always jumps the corral fence and finds my own pastures! If some people knew what I really thought about those "undeniable truths" of woodturning.....it would be thought blasphemous......and, I'd probably be strung up by the nearest tree! :rolleyes:

Welcome also!