• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Richard Brown

Hi everyone my name is Richard Brown, I'm a disabled Marine who enjoys woodworking. I'm just getting in to turning, I'm in the Baton Rouge, La. area and there are only clubs like an hour and a half away in 2 directions, New Orleans and Lafayette. I've been doing woodworking for over 25 years but no turning. If there's anyone in the Baton Rouge, La area that either knows of a local club or is willing to help me get started and learn I would appreciate it.

Thanks
Richard

Last edited:
Richard, I checked my 2009 AAW resource directory, no luck on a chapter near Baton Rouge. I think understand your dilemma, I would contact the New Orleans, and Lafayette chapters and ask if there are any members closer to your area. I'm sure there would be a member or two from those clubs willing to mentor you. Who knows maybe a new chapter in Baton Rouge may be in your future.

Thank you for your service to all Americans.

The New Orleans club (Bayou Woodturners) has members that live near you and attend meetings and other events regularly. Some even belong to other clubs as well, such as the one in Lafayette and another in Mobile. Several of them carpool to the meetings held on the 2nd Saturday each month, and I'm confident we can find a way to help you with transportation if you're interested in attending any meetings to check us out.