• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Right or Left Handed Turning?

Hi, I'm new to turning and when it's more convenient I've typically switched my hands (left hand on my hip rather than right hand) rather than put my body in an awkward position. I was taking a beginner class at our local club and the instructor was very surprised by this and made me feel like this wasn't a good idea. Most of the video's I've seen also don't show people switching hands, most people turn with their right hand on their hip and left hand near the tool rest. I'd be interested in what people here have to say on the subject, please let me know if I should stop switching - thanks!