• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Salad Bowl or Walnut????

I am relatively new to turning but I have a question for anyone who can shed some light on finshes. What exactly is Salad Bowl Finish? and how does that compare to Walnut Oil and tung Oil?

Also, any insight on sanding sealers (when to use/when not to use/why use)?

Proprietary information, I'm sure, but the nose and the surface tell me that Behlen's was ( is? ) a tung oil varnish. Equivalent to a wipe-on consistency rather than a thinner "Danish" oil.

Oils as finishes are generally softer and more flexible than their resin-mixed versions and build slowly. Tung has great water resistance in a film application, and is less yellowing than walnut, though it has a certain haziness after the second application which doesn't appeal to me.

I use a wipe-on with urethane resin and soy oil - Minwax. If I want more color, linseed.

Sanding sealers are great for use on large flat surfaces to limit absorption of oils into standing grain, and thereby equalize the final color for staining or varnishing. With all that's going on in the way of grain directions in a turning, hardly seems reasonable to use them. the other use of sanding sealers, as a carrier for lubricating stearates, is covered by stearated abrasives.

Hey AZ,