• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Signing your work

Searched "signing your work" and found nothing. I'm not good at signing with burner or micro-motor. Do you have a source for quality branding irons? Bought a brand from Chinese source but it didn't last and no luck getting it replaced. How do you sign your work? Do you have a branding iron source you recommend? Needs to be round and small (1").

Website
www.reallyruralwoodworks.com
I also use archival ink to sign my pieces. However, a few months ago, I came across a really cool laser device for burning logos and such on various materials - it is called (I'm not making this up) "laserpecker", & they had several different models to choose from. You might look into it - the web site is pretty informative: www.laserpecker.net - I still might end up buying one for myself, I figure that in 50+years, my writing has not and probably will not improve with practice!

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Do you have a branding iron source you recommend? Needs to be round and small (1").

Just ran across this branding iron just this morning. Looks like a good price on sale. I don't have one of these, so it's not a recommendation......just a head's up...

il_340x270.5106085236_29lf.jpg